Hoyland Springwood

  • Clough Fields Road, Hoyland
    Barnsley, S74 0ER
  • Call us:
    01226 743815

Statutory Information

This page provides links to information that is statutorily required on the school website. All of this information is available elsewhere on the site.


About Our School

Hoyland Springwood Primary School is a Primary Academy and part of the Every Child Matters Academy Trust.  The school became an academy on 1st October 2015.

The school’s address is: Hoyland Springwood Primary School, Clough Fields Road, Hoyland, Barnsley, S74 0ER

The telephone number is 01226 743815 and the main school e-mail address is springwood@ecmtrust.co.uk.

The Headteacher is Mrs Jennifer Hunt.  Queries from parents and members of the public are usually dealt with initially by Mrs Charnock, Mrs Drayton or Miss Popplewell in the school office.  They will then direct the query as appropriate.

The Chair of the school’s governing body is Mrs Chloe Lawson.  Mrs Lawson can be contacted via the school office.

The school’s Inclusion Leader (incorporating the SENCO role) is Miss Lindsey Waugh.  Miss Waugh is also the Teacher in Charge of the school’s resourced provision for children with complex communication and interaction needs.


Admissions Arrangements

Information about admissions arrangements can be found here – Admission Arrangements


Exclusion Arrangements

Information about exclusions arrangements can be found here – Exclusions Guidance



The school had its first full inspection since becoming an Academy on 25th and 26th September 2018.

Ofsted recognised Hoyland Springwood as a GOOD school. The full inspection report can be found here.


Key Stage 2 Results & School Performance Tables

The school’s Key Stage 2 results for 2018 can be found here – KS2 Results 2018

The school’s Key Stage 2 results for 2017 can be found here – KS2 Results 2017

The School Performance Tables published by GOV.UK can be found here – School Performance Tables



Information about our curriculum can be found here – Curriculum



Our Personal Development, Behaviour & Wellbeing Policy can be found here – Personal Development, Behaviour & Wellbeing Policy

Our Anti-bullying Policy can be found here – Anti-bullying Policy

The school’s Behaviour Lead is Mrs Rachel Parker, Deputy  Headteacher.


Pupil Premium

Information relating to the school’s use of the Pupil Premium, including the school’s Pupil Premium Strategy, can be found here – Pupil Premium


PE and Sports Premium

Information relating to the school’s use of the PE Premium can be found here – School Sports Grant


Special Educational Needs and Disability

Our Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator is Miss Lindsey Waugh.

More information about provision for children with Special Needs can be found here – Special Educational Needs and Disability Information

A copy of the SEND policy can be found here – SEND Policy

A copy of our SEND Information Report can be found here – SEND Information Report

A copy of our Accessibility Plan (2018-2021) can be found here – Accessibility Plan 2018-2021


Equality & Diversity

Our Equality & Diversity Policy can be found here – Equality & Diversity Policy

Information on our Equality Objectives can be found here – Equality Objectives 2018-2022


Complaints Policy

The ECM Trust Complaints Policy can be found here – Complaints Policy


Financial Information

Financial information about the school can be found on the ECM Trust website – ECM Trust website



The composition of Hoyland Springwood’s Governing Body is as follows:

Headteacher – 1

Parent – 2

Staff – 1

Local Authority – 1

Co-opted – 2


The school currently has one vacancy for a co-opted governor.  The Chair of Governors is Mrs Barbara Arnold and the Vice-Chair is Mrs Michelle Jones.  If anyone needs to contact Mrs Arnold as the Chair, this can be done via the school office on 01226 743815.

The governing body meets termly and has two sub-committees, both of which meet termly also.  The sub-committees and their membership is as follows:


Finance, Personnel & General Purposes

  • Mr Neil Spencer (Chair of Finance Committee)
  • Mrs Jennifer Hunt (Headteacher)
  • Mrs Barbara Arnold (Chair of Governors)
  • Mrs Chloe Lawson (Co-opted Governor)

Mr Tim Marsh (ECM Trust Business Director) also attends to provide a financial report.


School Improvement Strategy Group 

  • Mrs Jennifer Hunt (Headteacher)
  • Mrs Chloe Lawson (Co-opted Governor)
  • Mrs Gerry Foster-Wilson (Executive Headteacher & Trust CEO)
  • Mrs Barbara Arnold (Chair of Governors)


Information about the members of the governing body can be found here – Governors’ Details

Information about governors’ attendance at meetings for last academic year can be found here – Governor Attendance


Charging & Remissions Policy

A copy of the school’s Charging & Remissions Policy can be found here – Charging & Remissions Policy


Requests for Copies of Documents & Information

Paper copies of any information provided on the school’s website can be obtained via the school office, free of charge.  Please ask to speak to Mrs. Karen Charnock,  Finance Officer.